South Park E3 2017 Ubisoft

Ubisoft’s E3 2017 Press Conference was about the same quality of the Sony Press Conference, it was helped by a major announcement towards the end of the show that had a lot of people extremely excited, with the announcement of Beyond Good and Evil 2. Personally I’m very unfamiliar with the first game so I was excited for those her were excited and the trailer itself was engaging. The juxtaposition of a traditionally child-friendly looking character saying, ‘Motherfucker’ was pretty awesome and unexpected. The original is on the GameCube and I’m now interested in going back a purchasing and playing the original game in time for the sequel, but judging from the lack of any gameplay the game doesn’t seem to be coming out any time soon. Now let’s move onto the aspect of this show that I am familiar with.

Skull and Bones E3 2017 Ubisoft

We were reminded that South Park: The Fractured but Whole is supposedly coming out later this year. Sadly I seriously doubt that the development team will make the date due to the complexity and quality of the previous game. The game itself looks like it builds off the first game which itself, especially as a first outing, was excellent. Another game that caught my eye was Skull in Bones which takes elements from multiple different previous Ubisoft titles that have come out in recent years. Evidently the pirate aspect comes from Assassins Creed: Black Flag which was critically the best aspect of the game, I haven’t played any Assassins Creed games personally so I’m unaware, but it also takes the only-online gameplay from For Honour. These two aspects combined will make for an interesting game that I’m looking forward to trying.

Far Cry 5 E3 2017 Ubisoft

The final game that stood out to me from this press conference was Far Cry 5. I’m a massive fan of the Far Cry series having obtained the platinum trophy Far Cry Primal and loving Far Cry 4. So I was heavily anticipating the reveal of Far Cry 5 and I was even more excited when the initial trailer was realised just before E3, maybe in hindsight they should have held that announcement back for this press conference, which reflected the more serious elements being explored in this game. This intriguing story design combined with the gameplay of typical Far Cry, displayed at this press conference, will make for an excellent game. Everything they showed here at the press conference was everything I wanted to see plus they made the announcement that coop will be available for the story just like Far Cry 5, this will undoubtedly lead to some insane moments of gameplay and a great game overall.

6Overall Ubisoft’s E3 2017 Press Conference gets a 6. As mentioned in the beginning of the article, in my opinion, the Sony and Ubisoft press conferences were about equal in quality. None of them compared to either of Sony’s big conferences from last year, but really how could of?

