Bethesda’s E3 conference was a lot shorter and more compacted than I was expecting, but overall there were only 2 games that interested me: The Evil Within 2 and Wolfenstein: The New Colossus. The other additional announcements surrounded games that revolved around either VR or large RPG’s that I don’t have the time to get into at the moment. Also ‘Payed Mods’ are a massive point of contention coming out of this conference but I’m not equipped to give opinions on anything to do with mods. Both the previously mentioned game impressed me particularly because of their cool, creative and engaging trailers.

Evil Within

First of the trailer for, ‘The Evil Within 2’ was incredibly interesting to watch and appealing to the eyes, so much so that I’m now enticed to buy the first game and give it a go. The only details about this series I remember is that, at least at initial realise, the game wasn’t in widescreen and that caused an uproar with many players. But the trailer was compelling mainly because of the art style and because the cinematics looked interesting. It also didn’t seem overly scary, which is something I can defiantly support because I’m not a massive fan of the horror genre. I do however already own the first Wolfenstein game but only played it for approximately 2 hours or so, and it really didn’t capture my attention as it seemed to do for other people. But I’m willing to give it another go, simply because I find the premise of an alternative history with the German’s winning WW2 so interesting.

5The predominant reaction to this conference is very negative coming out of it, but I didn’t find it any better or worse than EA’s outing yesterday. So for that reason Bethesda’s E3 2017 conference gets a 5. Tomorrow the two conferences that I’m looking most forward too with outings from both Ubisoft and Sony. Hopefully we’ll get news and gameplay from Far Cry 5 and The Last of Us Part 2.

